Dr. Tim Irwin Receives USD Sanford School of Medicine Hyden Memorial Award

May 04, 2018 at 1:51 PM

Dr. Tim Irwin receiving the Hyden award.Dr. Tim Irwin has been selected as the 2018 Anton Hyden Memorial Award recipient by the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

A cardiologist, Dr. Irwin serves as clinical associate professor at USD SSOM with the department of internal medicine. The Hyden award is given in memory of Dr. Anton Hyden to preserve the memory and high regard in which Dr. Hyden was held in his field of urology, as a physician, surgeon, teacher and a person.

The Hyden award is presented to a USD SSOM professor selected by members of the junior and senior classes. It recognizes a professor who has inspired and helped those students the most during their final two years in medical school.

Dr. Irwin attended the award ceremony May 4 during the medical school's graduation convocation to accept the award.

Photo credit:  USD Sanford School of Medicine

About Yankton Medical Clinic, P.C.

Yankton Medical Clinic, P.C. opened January 1, 1982, as a result of a merger between the Yankton Clinic and the Medical Clinic. Physician owned and operated, Yankton Medical Clinic, P.C. has 39 physicians, more than 220 employees, two clinic locations, and serves 15 outreach locations in South Dakota and Nebraska.

About the USD Sanford School of Medicine

USD's Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.

Tags: Awards